Fast Tracks

Model Railroading Discussion Forums

Return To The Fast Tracks Website

The Fast Tracks discussion forums have been closed. Click Here for more information.

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: How to hand lay track
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:05 pm 

Hi all,

My first post, but I am now the proud creator of 5 turnouts all of which seem to work well. Trying to get as much information about hand laying track as I've never done it before.

I know there are as many experts on this subject as there are people who have hand laid track :D but what I'm really interested in is the difference between using PCB ties as holders and using all wood ties.

It seems like placing PCB ties every 4" - 6" (maybe closer on curves) would make it easier to hold the rail width correct while you spike down the ties. Then again, one would have to hold the rail down and in gage will soldering the PCBs so maybe I'm wrong on this. I seem to be worrying a lot about how to keep extended sections of trackage in gage while they are being installed.

Anybody with experience with either or both (or some other method) please share your expertise.

Robert

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:39 pm 

Robert,